Abatement & Exemptions Guidelines & Forms

Guidelines

  1. Blind Exemption

    Massachusetts General Law Chapter 59 Section 5 Clause 37A provides an exemption for blind persons who satisfy the requirements.

  2. Elderly Persons

    Massachusetts General Law Chapter 59 Section 5 Clause 41C provides an exemption for persons 65 years of age or older who satisfy the requirements.

  3. Elderly, Spouses & Minors

    Massachusetts General Law Chapter 59 Section 5 Clause 17D provides an exemption for persons 70 years of age or older, or surviving spouses, or surviving minor child who satisfy the requirements.

  4. Veterans

    Massachusetts General Law Chapter 59 Section 5 Clauses 22, 22A, 22B, 22C, 22D and 22E provide exemptions to certain veterans (and their spouses or surviving spouses) who meet the requirements. Learn about these requirements.

  5. Elderly & Disable Taxation

    You may be eligible to receive assistance in paying a portion of the real estate taxes assessed on your residence if you meet the criteria and if adequate funding is available. Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 60 Section 3D authorizes voluntary contributions by citizens to a Tax Relief Fund.